Delete QuickBooks Company and Start Over

  • January 9, 2024

When the company file is opened in QuickBooks then you will receive a list of all the company files that are available from the software to choose from. If the list has more files then there are chances of you selecting the wrong file and working in the wrong company.

How to Edit Company Files in QuickBooks 2022

If you are willing to remove the company file from the list and do not want the permanent deletion of it then you can edit companies that are being displayed by QuickBooks on startup.

  • Go to the File menu and select Open or Restore Company.
  • Select Open a Company file and then click on Next. The window with the available company files, all of them, will open up.
  • Then tap on the Edit list present under the Open button. The window of Edit Company List will open up.
  • Make sure to put the check mark on the company file that you are willing to hide. All you have to do is just click on the file name.
  • Then click on OK to ensure the company.

How to Delete Quickbooks Company from Open Company List

  1. Go to the File menu and select Open or Restore Company. Navigate the file that you are willing to delete and then choose Open.
  2. Open the file confirmation by pressing the Ctrl+1 or F2 key. Copy the file's location. The address of the location will start with the "C:\" and is going to end with the ".qbw".
  3. Get the QuickBooks program closed down and then navigate the file location on the computer. The file will have the icon of QuickBooks on it.
  4. Now go to the file and right click on it and then select delete.
  5. Open the QuickBooks again and then navigate to the Open or Restore Company. In case the file appears still then tap on the Edit list and then tap on the company file to hide it.
  6. Click on OK to hide the file that is deleted.

Removing Companies from The QuickBooks Online

Removing the QuickBooks files from QuickBooks Online is a bit different. If you are registered/listed as a user on QuickBooks online then the company file will keep on appearing as you log in and are listed as a company user. An account cannot be deleted by you only an administrator can delete the user account.

To get yourself removed as the user:

  • Login with the credentials of an administrator
  • Choose the company that you are willing to hide from the login stage
  • Tap on the Edit or Remove the User's Access
  • Select your user name of yours and then tap on the Remove User
  • Click on OK to get yourself removed as the user.

Blog Post

Related Articles

QuickBooks Unrecoverable Errors

January 12, 2024
What is an Unrecoverable Error in QuickBooks There is a wide range of QuickBooks Unrecoverable errors that happen due...

QuickBooks Error 6147

January 16, 2024
What is QuickBooks Error 6147 & How to Fix It? QuickBooks Error 6147 is a company file error that restricts the user...

Where Does QuickBooks Version Store Data Files

January 4, 2024
Click on the file menu bar and then suddenly click on open previous company. At the beginning of the listing if you see...
Call Now+1-800-961-4963