Merge Customers in QuickBooks

  • January 9, 2021

When using QuickBooks you must have encountered recording duplicate entries for two customers. In such a situation, you should merge customers in QuickBooks. With this, you will be consistent in keeping the accuracy of your data. However, before you start combining them, you must delete any payments made against them. Many of you won’t be familiar with the steps involved in how to merge in QuickBooks. We have got you covered with all the steps explained and every aspect of it. So let’s begin.

What to do if you want to merge customers in QuickBooks? 

Before QuickBooks customer mergers. First things first, you must combine their positions and remove any associated payments. Additionally, make a backup of their record because merging them will prevent it from being restored. Occasionally, the invoice you produced to make a payment will reopen after you erase the payment. Thus, before we examine the procedures for merging clients in QuickBooks Online. It is necessary that you first review the process for removing a payment.

What is the method to delete payment before testing?

To remove the deposit or payment, adhere to the guidelines below:

  • Open QuickBooks, and select COA from the Top menu by tapping on it.
  • To remove the payment, click the account and then select Deposit.
  • Next, choose Edit and click Delete Line.

What are the steps to merge jobs in QuickBooks?

You must combine tier jobs before combining customers. To accomplish this, follow the instructions listed below:

  • Select Customers and Jobs from the Customer Center.
  • Next, type or copy the customer's job name.
  • To merge jobs, pick the record you wish to combine and click Yes.
  • We'll now go over the steps involved in merging customers in QuickBooks online.

What are the steps to merge customers in QuickBooks? 

Follow these steps to combine clients in QuickBooks:

  • First, open QBs and enter your credentials.
  • If you wish to merge with another client, tap on the customer's name.
  • Make "Job a Parent Customer" now, before merging, and go to the Job Name.
  • Click "Edit Customer" and select "Change the customer's name with a new name."
  • A notification will appear on your screen; click Yes to acknowledge it.

You must regenerate the payment that you erased to merge after merging. To do that, consider these easy steps:

  • Select "Customer" and then "Receive Payment."
  • Next, pick Customer and mark the invoice with a check mark.
  • Choose the Payment Mode last.

Conclusion!

This is all for this article. We have explained all the relevant steps involved in this process. If you follow these steps correctly, you will be successfully able to merge two customers in QuickBooks. However, if you still find any errors, feel free to contact us. Our experts are here to assist you anytime. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

In QuickBooks, how may two customers be combined?

  1. If you wish to merge with another client, tap on the customer's name.
  2. Click "Edit Customer" and select "Change the customer's name with a new name."
  3. A message will appear on your screen. Simply click Yes to verify.

What is the purpose of combining customers in QuickBooks?

The best strategy to get rid of duplicate suppliers and customers is to merge their accounts. Duplicate data will be eliminated while the original data is retained.


Blog Post

Related Articles

How to Merge Two Customers in QuickBooks

December 21, 2023
How to Merge Two Customers in QuickBooks? Well, but why do we need to do so in the first place? This is important...

Partial Payments in QuickBooks Desktop

September 13, 2018
Process of Making Partial Payments in QuickBooks Desktop There is a possibility that owners of the small business may...

QuickBooks Make Deposits and Receive Payments

December 29, 2023
How to Deposit the Payment in Quickbooks If payment has been deposited from the account of QuickBooks Payment, then get...
Call Now+1-800-961-4963